A place to build things…

Recently I have faced a peculiar delima. You see, I have a number of hobbies where I enjoy building things. Lego, remote control toys, etc…

The problem is that while I find it quite relaxing to sit down and work on a project, I do not always have the time to do so. And when I do not have the time, the last thing I want to deal with is the mess of a half complete project.

So what to do?

For a while I entertained copying my father and getting a shed for such activities. But in cold, rainy Seattle – there are many problems such an idea. Like not wanting to go outside in the middle of winter, and the challenge of keeping everything dry.

With more thought a solution presented itself. I needed a build cupboard! A secretariat to be exact. A bit of searching revealed the perfect cupboard for me. This now sits in the corner of my bedroom. When I am busy, it is closed up:

IMG_0003.JPG

But when I want to work on a project, I can open it up to reveal everything I need:

IMG_0004.JPG

Tonight, I have been repairing Lego sets and testing remote controlled helicopters. Soon I will close it all up and go to bed.

Cheers,
Ben

Leave a comment